About the Maurice Prize

The Maurice prize is officially on hiatus for the 2018-19 academic year.

The English Department at the University of California, Davis, and New York Times best-selling novelist John Lescroart, host annually the Maurice Prize in Fiction.
The Maurice prize is awarded for the best sustained work of fiction (a novel, novel in stories, or other sustained book-length prose fiction form) submitted by alumni who have not yet published or had a book-length manuscript in fiction accepted for publication by the contest deadline.
Literary merit is the over-riding criterion in the selection of the winning entry. John Lescroart has provided the $5,000 gift in honor of his father, Maurice Lescroart.  The $5,000 award has been given annually since 2005.
If you are an alumnus of the UC Davis graduate program in creative writing, please consider submitting!  There is no entry fee.


Current Winner

Previous Winners